State Activation Levels

​The State of Maryland has established four State Response Activation Levels, referred to as Status Levels, as noted in the table below. All levels provide for 24/7/365 monitoring of incidents throughout Maryland, maintaining a common operating picture, and supporting local jurisdictions and partners as needed. Each status level represents an increased need for situational awareness and coordination of State response activities and resources.
State Response Activation Levels 

Full: Incident of such magnitude that it may require response and/or recovery efforts and significant resources. EOC is ​fully Staffed.

​Partial​: Incident or event requires significant monitoring or resources. Additional EOC staffing from agencies, functions, and supporting organizations.

​Enhanced: ​Incident or event ​requires additional monitoring or resources. Core EOC Staff with potential augmentation from selected agencies, functions, and organizations.

Normal: Routine operation with no incident or event anticipated. State: 24/7 coordination and situational awareness through MJOC. Local: 24/7 coordination and situational awareness​ through local 911 centers.​

Status Level Escalation Doctrine

The State Response Activation Levels change based on a variety of factors. The most influential factor is the occurrence of a significant incident. The term “significant incident” is used to describe a single or multi-jurisdictional incident that warrants State involvement. This may include, but is not limited to: 
  • Requests for response operations support from local jurisdictions;
  • The displacement of a high number of people; 
  • A high number of casualties; 
  • Transportation network(s) affected; 
  • Extreme weather events; 
  • Large scale industrial accidents; 
  • Health related emergencies; and
  • Terrorist attacks.​