

2025 Council Membership Roster

Organization	Name
Maryland Department of Emergency Management (FSRC Co-Chair)	Russell Strickland Secretary
Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology (FSRC Co-Chair)	Nancy Nunn Assistant Director
Maryland State Senate	Senator Katie Fry Hester
Maryland House of Delegates	Delegate Lorig Charkoudian
Maryland Department of Human Services (FSRC Co-Vice Chair)	Emily Bauer Senior Director, Office of Nutrition Assistance Programs
Maryland Department of Agriculture (FSRC Co-Vice Chair)	Mark Powell Chief of Agriculture and Seafood Marketing
University of Maryland College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (FSRC Co-Vice Chair)	Dr. Stephanie Lansing Professor of Environmental Science & Technology
Maryland Department of Commerce	Joseph Milone Agricultural Programs Manager
Maryland Farm Bureau	Karl Shlagel District Director
Maryland Agricultural & Resource-Based Industry Development Corporation	Stephen McHenry Executive Director
Capital Area Food Bank	Joe Liu Director of Advocacy & Public Policy
Farmer	Jesse Albright



	Owner/Farmer, Albright Farms
Food Business Owner	Vacant
Food Council Member	Lisa Orr Founder, Frederick County Food Council
Food Council Member	Dr. Camille Range Director, Prince George's Food Equity Council
Food Council Member	Theresa Stahl Nutritionist, Allegany County Health Dept. Vice-Chair, Western Maryland Food Council
Food Council Member	Michelle Caruso Director of Policy & Partnerships, Montgomery Council Food Council
Food Council Member	Taylor LaFave Chief of Food Policy & Planning Food Policy Director, Baltimore City Department of Planning, Food Policy and Planning Division
Food, Nutrition, and Public Health Expert	Daphene Altema-Johnson Program Officer, Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future, Food Communities & Public Health
Food System Impacts on Climate Change and Environment Expert	Vacant
Food System Policy Expert	Grace Leatherman Executive Director, Future Harvest
Maryland Department of Environment (Ex-officio)	Shannon McDonald Natural Resource Planner
Maryland Food Bank	Meg Kimmel Chief Operating Officer



Maryland State Department of Education (Ex-officio)	Leslie Sessom-Parks Chief, Professional Development & Performance
Montgomery County Office of Food Systems Resilience	Heather Bois Bruskin <i>Director</i>
Public School System, Food Insecurity, and Local Food Procurement Representative	Beth Brewster Food Service Supervisor, Caroline County Public Schools
Racial Equity in Food System Policy Expert	Diana Taylor Director of Strategic Initiatives, Anne Arundel County Partnership for Children and Families
Seafood Industry Representative	Nick Hargrove Owner, Tilghman Island Seafood
Statewide Food Insecurity Advocacy Organization	JD Robinson Anti-Hunger Program Coordinator - SNAP Maryland Hunger Solutions
University of Maryland Eastern Shore Extension, College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences	Dr. Lila Karki Associate Professor of Agricultural Economics and Extension Program Evaluation Specialist
University of Maryland Extension	Lisa Lachenmayr Director, SNAP-Ed
University of Maryland Eastern Shore Small Farm Program	Vacant